The Municipality of Monemvasia was established in accordance with law 3852/2010 “The New Architecture of Local Government and Decentralisation – Kallikrates Programme” (Government Gazette I 87/7-6-2010), with the unification of the former municipalities of Zarakas, Molai, Asopos, Monemvasia and Vies in the Prefecture of Laconia in 2011.

The municipal department of Molai was designated the seat of the new municipality, which has a total area of 908.2 square kilometres and is situated at southeastern end of Laconia.
Molai is 70 km from Sparta and 300 km from Athens.

On the north it is bordered by the Municipalities of the Evrotas and South Kynouria, on the east and south by the Myrtoon Sea, on the southwest by the Municipality of Elafonisos, on the west by the Gulf of Laconia.

Over half (52.63%) of its area is classified as mountainous, on the basis of criteria established by the Greek Statistical Authority and Directive 75/268, and it possesses an extensive coastline.
It consists of five Municipal Departments: Zarakas, Molai, Asopos, Monemvasia, Vies.
For further information regarding the organisation and administration of the Municipality of Monemvasia, see